Commissioners / Staff

Home » Our Port » Who We Are » Commissioners / Staff



Mike Thomason


Mike Thomason is serving as the Port District 1 representative (term 2017-2022).  He is a retired Regional Business Manager for both the Lewis Clark and Palouse Regions with Avista Utilities, and is the former Asotin County Managing Director for Southeast Washington Economic Development Association.  Mike represents the Port on the Valley Vision Board of Directors and Executive Committee and serves on the LC Valley Chamber Board of Directors.


Jerry Klemm

Vice President

Jerry Klemm is serving as the Port District 3 representative (term 2021-2026).  He is retired from the Potlatch Corporation, a former Chairman of the LC Valley Chamber Natural Resource Committee and represents the Port on the Board of Directors and Executive Committee for the Pacific Northwest Waterways Association and serves on the LC Valley Chamber Government Affairs Committee.


Joseph Anderson


Joe Anderson is serving as the appointed District 2 representative (term 2022). Joe will serve as an appointed Port Commissioner until December 31, 2022. He is a forth generation farmer; operating the family farm where they raise winter wheat, spring wheat and barley, pulse and oilseed crops. Joe is currently serving as an Idaho Wheat Commissioner. Joe represents the Port on the Urban Renewal Agency Board of Directors.


Port Commissioner Election

Port of Lewiston Commissioners are elected for six-year terms. Elections are staggered to run every two years between the three districts. A primary election is required should there be more than two qualified candidates.

  1. District #1 Term 2017-2022 (general election, Nov 2016)
  2. District #2 Term 2019-2024 (general election, Nov 2018)
  3. District #3 Term 2021-2026 (general election, Nov 2020)

Interested candidates should inquire with the Nez Perce County Clerk’s office. Click Here to obtain accurate information regarding candidacy forms, deadlines and requirements for ballot placement.